top of page


All our activities are based on the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) document outlined by the Department for Education and Skills (DfES) and are covered using different activities or themes throughout the year. A folder containing all of our policies, a diary of yearly activities and our daily routines are available to read by the Parents Notice Board in the lobby area.


Each keyperson sets targets every week for their keychildren from the non-statutory guidance, Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). The link below is where you can find any additional information you wish to know about the Development Matters material.

The Early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets the standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The EYFS only applies to schools and early years providers in England. 

Areas of learning

The EYFS is split into 7 sections, 

The prime areas of learning are:

  • communication and language

  • physical development

  • personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy

  • mathematics

  • understanding the world

  • expressive arts and design


Your child’s progress will be reviewed when they’re between 2 and 3 by an early years practitioner and your health visitor. This is their 2 year check. 

see saw.jpg
bottom of page